Select a School

Maine EastMaine WestMaine South
Maine EastMaine WestMaine South
Maine EastMaine WestMaine SouthAdmin


August 4, 2022
Board Member Kilburg Resigns Due to a Change in Residency

Ashley Kilburg has resigned from her Board member position as she and her family have the opportunity to relocate out of the district. Kilburg was elected in 2021 and has chaired the Education Committee and served on the Policy and Buildings and Grounds Committees, Maine Community Youth Assistance Foundation, Community Advisory Council Liaison, District 207 School Based Health Center Liaison as well as the District’s Illinois Association of School Board Assembly Delegate.

“It has been a pleasure and place of growth for me to serve the community of District 207 but my family has a wonderful opportunity to move to Nashville, Tennessee and we need to embrace this change,” Kilburg said “I will miss working with the entire board and serving the students and families, but I know there are many capable and caring volunteers willing to step up and take my spot.”

Board President Carla Owen said;  “During Ashley’s time on the Board, she has been a thoughtful and conscientious participant, clear in expressing her views and asking questions. She took her responsibility to the District and the community seriously, and I think she would have become a leader on the Board in the coming years. I wish her and her family well as they make this move to Nashville.”

The District 207 Board of Education is seeking qualified candidates to fill a vacancy that has occurred as of August 4, 2022, as a consequence of the resignation due to changed residency of Board member Ashley Kilburg. A qualified candidate must be: (1) a citizen of the United States, (2) 18 years or over, (3) a resident of the State and the school district for at least one year, (4) a registered voter, and (5) not a school trustee or a school treasurer. The School Board consists of seven members who serve a diverse population of approximately 6500 high school students who live in Des Plaines, Park Ridge and portions of Niles, Morton Grove, Norwood Park, Harwood Heights, Norridge, Mount Prospect, Glenview and Rosemont. 

Residents living with the District 207 boundaries who meet these qualifications are invited to submit a letter of interest and a one-page resume outlining their involvement in community affairs to Carla Owen, President, Board of Education, 1177 South Dee Road, Park Ridge, IL  60068 by 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday, August 9, 2022. Letters of interest and resumes may be mailed to the address above, Attn: Ginny Edwards, submitted in person during normal business hours, or emailed to [email protected]

The School Board plans to interview candidates for this vacancy on the evening of August 10, 2022. On the same evening, the Board will also be interviewing candidates for the vacancy created by the previous resignation of Paula Besler. The Board plans to appoint the two new Board members at the Board’s Special Board meeting on August 15, 2022. Both appointed Board members will serve until April, 2023.